The Committee consists of the President, Deputy President, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer, Examinations Committee Chairman and the three Vice Presidents. The Executive Director chairs the Executive Committee.

The CILA Council is the governing body of the Institute and is comprised of Chartered Loss Adjusters. Council members are elected to represent one or more of the following:

  • a particular aspect of claims handling (i.e. a CILA Special Interest Group)
  • an activity of the Institute (e.g. examinations)
  • the interests of members in a geographical location (i.e. a UK and Ireland area)

Council members may also be elected as an independent representative.

Executive Committee & Council

Council and Officers for the year 2019-2020

Executive Director

Malcolm Hyde BSc (Hons) Dip (Fr) FCII FCILA


Graham Smart ACII FCILA

Deputy President


Vice Presidents

  • Jonathan Clark MA MSc Dip Eng ACII FCILA
  • John Eves BA MBS FCCA FCILA FIFAA Fuedi-Elae
  • Luke Exford MRICS FCILA

Honorary Secretary

Andrew Considine BSc Dip CII FCILA

Honorary Treasurer

Kevin Wood MA(Oxon) ACII CDir FCILA

Education Committee Chairman

Ewart Hodge MSc, FCII, ACILA, CFE

Examinations Committee Chairman

Julie-anne Headington ACII ACILA FIFAA FMAAT


  • Anti-Fraud SIG - Tim Richardson ACII ACILA ACFS
  • Business Interruption SIG - Steven Nock FCILA
  • Claimant SIG - Angus Tucker FCILA FUEDI ELAE
  • Claims Management SIG - Paul Sturges ACII FCILA FUEDI ELAE
  • Construction, Energy & Engineering SIG - Adam Humphrey LLB (Hons) MA ACII CIP ACILA
  • High Net Worth & Specie SIG - Helena Evans ACILA
  • International SIG - Niall Metcalfe BA (Hons) ACILA
  • Liability SIG - Martyn Gabbitass ACII FCILA
  • Property SIG - Michael McLean FCII FCILA
  • Smaller Independent Practices SIG - Roger Topping LLB (Hons) ACII FCILA
  • Subsidence & Surveying SIG - Kevin Terry MCIOB MCABE MaPS MRICS ACILA
  • Future Focus - Ehsan Shaeri MEng CEng MICE ACII ACILA
  • Midlands Area - Alan Walker ACII ACILA
  • Northern Ireland Area - Cathy Scott ACII ACILA
  • Republic of Ireland Area - Marc Sweeney DBA MBA MSc FCII ACILA BSc (Hons) Psych
  • Scottish Area - Nick Croan ACII FCILA
  • Independent - Michelle Haynes BSc (Hons) ACII ACILA

Honorary Solicitor

Tony Dempster (Herbert Smith Freehills LLP)

Honorary Auditors

Kingston Smith, 141 Wardour Street, London W1F 0UT